Sharing – A Box Full of…

IMG_3695

Today marks the second year anniversary of the launch of “gluten free and the Australian teenager”, so I thought it was appropriate that I revisit my first blog:

Sharing – A Box Full of….

My intentions and focus are still the same as it was two years ago:

to share ….

recipes, handy hints, experiences,  travel tips, eating out advice, products, shortcuts, taste tests

and all that goes with a gluten free lifestyle.

During my two years of blogging:

I have amassed an amazing number of recipes and narrowed down many gluten free products accepted  by my teenager’s tastebuds

I have put together a recipe book with family favourites for my KJ, for when he leaves home

I have become a better cook because I have been forced to experiment with different ingredients.

And I have witnessed  my gf son become comfortable with his gluten free lifestyle and be confident in making good and safe choices when away from home.

To celebrate this anniversary I will share a recipe I found in a magazine at a doctor’s surgery and which I had photocopied for me by the receptionist.

White Wings Gluten Free Melt-and-Mix Chocolate Cake Recipe

Ingredients

250 g butter, melted

3/4 cup cocoa, sifted

1 1/3 cups (295g) caster sugar

3 eggs,lightly beaten

1 1/2 cups (180g) almond meal

1 1/2 cups (225g) gluten free self-raising flour, sifted

3/4 cup (180ml) milk

250 g dark chocolate, broken in pieces

1/2 cup (125ml) single pouring cream

70 g butter, cubed

Method

Preheat oven to 180C.  Grease and line a 22 cm round cake tin.

In a large bowl, place butter, cocoa, sugar, eggs, almond meal, flour and milk and whisk until combined.

Pour into the prepared tin and bake for 1 hour or cooked when tested with a skewer.

Allow to cool completely in the tin.

To make the chocolate fudge icing, place the chocolate, cream and butter in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir until melted and smooth.  Remove from heat and set aside to cook completely.

Beat the cooled icing with electric beaters until thick and fluffy and spread over cake with a palette knife to serve.

Enjoy!